School Eisteddfod, 2012-2013


The annual Eisteddfod was held on the 21st of November, and despite the bad weather, the atmosphere in the Leisure Centre was lively and warm.

The House Captains were as follows:  Emlyn - Fleur Snow;  Teifi - Cerys Jones;  Tysul - Gwenllian Llwyd.

The judges were:

Modern Dance - Ms Victoria Atkinson

Recitation and light entertainment - Miss Elen Morgan, past pupil and actress on 'Rownd a Rownd'

Music - Mr Dafydd Rhys Evans, past pupil and a muscial instructor in London

Folk Dancing - Mrs Elen Davies, past pupil and Deputy at Ysgol Bro Sion Cwilt

Chair and English Medal - Mr Iwan Rhys, author and poet

A wide variety of competitions were held at the Eisteddfod varying from choral competitions, to reciting a joke, and sketch and recitation competitions.  Meilir Ioan, from Pentre'r Bryn area, was chaired for his Welsh poem, and Matthew Whitton, from Saron, won the English Medal.

Following a day of hard competition, Emlyn House won overall with 519 points, followed by Tysul with 451 marks and Teifi with 437 marks.

Thanks to Miss Awen Davies for organising the Eisteddfod, and to the Sixth formers for instructing the other pupils.  The Eisteddfod will certainly be memorable, and will stand as one of the highlights in the school calendar.

Click here for more results

Click here for homework results

Click here for cup winners